RSS Feed

Mountains + Hiking = Summer <3

Posted on

This summer Paul and I had the opportunity to work at Clydehurst Christian Rance in McLeod, Montana. For those of you that follow this you will remember that I really struggled with whether or not this was where God wanted me for the summer. I can tell you wholeheartedly that this was exactly where I was supposed to be 🙂

There’s so much that I could talk about involving this summer. So many stories and memories. But instead I will tell you about what I learned and if you’d like to hear some stories then you can ask me sometime 🙂

I believe that the biggest thing I learned this summer is that God is always there with me when I need him. Ask anyone that knows me and they will tell you that everything about this camp was not me. Hiking, being outdoors, playing sports and other athletic activities, horses, riflery, oh and did I mention hiking? No one really understood why I was going, heck I didn’t even know! I just knew that if I got accepted, and got on that bus, and made it to Montana…that’s where I was meant to be. So the first week of camp was really hard. I had to try a lot of new things and meet a lot of new people. At first I was discouraged and overwhelmed and just wanted to go home. Eventually I accepted that God had me there not to torture me, but to help me grow in who I am. God helped me every time I had to climb those mountains or jump on a horse and eventually, I really grew to love it. My job at this camp was to lead a group of girls every week during youth camps and then serve families during family camps. There were a few times when I honestly felt like I wasn’t doing anything right and that there was no way I could help these kids and these families. But God was there to place the new people in my life right there when I needed them to support me and pray for me.

As you can guess, by the end of camp I didn’t want to go home. Montana became a part of me, as did Clydehurst Christian Ranch. I now love horses and tolerate hiking. I have made great friends from there and still have contact with some of my girls I counseled. I don’t know what God has in store for me next summer, but I do know that I will return to there one day and hopefully for many days after that.

One response »

  1. No mother could be more proud than I am of you Ashley!! I thank God for you everyday! I love you and I miss you so much!!! I truly wish I could experience what you did in Montana. You are living your life the way God intended. Continue to live everyday to the fullest because our days are numbered and we should never take that for granted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

