RSS Feed

A Year Later and Another Summer to Come

Posted on

I apologize for taking almost an entire year to update this blog. Things with school and health problems took up my whole school year once last summer ended. I went the entire summer without having more than the sniffles and I return here to get a UTI which led us to discover I had mono, then the flu which led me to get bronchitis, and recently I’ve been fighting a cold and some weird stomach issues that left me not wanting to eat or drink anything for a week. During all of this my mother was sick for a while at the beginning of the school year and was hospitalized. Then my oldest sister Michelle was hospitalized over spring break for double pneumonia and the swine flu. Thanks to LOTS of prayer everyone is much better now!! But all of these things really paid a toll on myself as well as my family and sitting here writing this I keep asking myself where the year went.

So on to this coming summer, Summer 2011, I have no idea what I am doing. A few months ago Paul and I did reapply to work at Clydehurst in Montana again but we were not certain that was where we would go. I think a lot of why we applied again was because we couldn’t see ourselves not reapplying. It was a really great summer filled with so many memories and great experiences that helped us grow. We were both accepted back at camp but still weren’t for sure that’s what we were supposed to do. Paul had another job for the summer being offered to him and I just wasn’t sure I was supposed to/could go back to Montana. After lots and lots of debating with ourselves, we realized that Clydehurst is not in our plans for this summer. I hated making the phone call to Curtis at camp declining my position they so graciously gave me. But despite the tears that came after that conversation I knew that what I did was right. Paul and I weren’t saying no to never returning to Clydehurst; believe me we will make it back up there one day. We were saying no to a door that we felt God was closing and yes to the path we felt God was calling us to.

I am not perfect, so I have my fears and concerns about this summer. But I am giving it all over to God because I know He will provide for me this summer in ways I never thought would happen. I am excited for the internship opportunity that Paul has been given this summer and I am excited to go home and be with my family for a while. All of the other details of what I am going to do and how Paul and I’s relationship will work are things that I do not have to worry about because God has control of it all. For this, I am thankful.

“Show me your ways, LORD, teach me your paths. Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.” Psalm 25:4-5

One response »

  1. Beautifully said sweetheart!!!
    I love you!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

